Wednesday, May 29, 2013

17.5T Domination - Awesomatix TQ and Wins 17.5T at the 2013 Reedy On-Road Race of Champions

Team Awesomatix USA drivers dominated practice and qualifying in the 17.5T class by locking out the top 3 qualifying positions. The trio of Kyle Bergstrom, Austin Brumblay and Aaron Young where consistently faster than the competition turning laps in the low 16s range (same speed as 13.5T) while everyone else was in the mid/high 16s range.

Additionally, in the 13.5T class, Mark Dawson qualified 10th.

17.5T Race Summary

In A1, Kyle and Austin rocketed to a quick lead while Aaron ran into some trouble on the first lap. It was clear that Aaron had a dominant car as he drove back up through the field to eventually finish just behind Austin. The trio finish in qualifying order - Kyle, Austin and Aaron.

In A2, Kyle and Austin broke away from the pack again. At the 2m mark Kyle and Austin had a racing incident that eventually caused Kyle to drop out. Austin would win, and Aaron finished second.

In A3, the overall win was still up for grabs. The race quickly developed with a 3 car Awesomatix breakaway from the field. This time the trio of Kyle, Austin and Aaron was out front - pressuring one another to go faster and faster. Kyle ended up grabbing too much curb and fell out of the race. This left the battle to Austin and Aaron, and they finished in that order. Even after not finishing the last two races, Kyle still scored a 5th overall.

13.5T Race Summary

In A1, Dawson had a strong start, he quickly worked through traffic and managed to get his car into contention. He was placed as high as 3rd and finished 4th.

In A2, Dawson has less luck on the start and only finished 6th overall. He was happy with his setup changes and expecting much more in A3.

In A3, Dawson had some good battles on his way to 6th place finish. After losing a tie-breaker in in qual points, he finished 7th overall.

Race Results-
17.5T Touring Car Finishing Order
1. Austin Brumblay - Awesomatix A700L
2. Aaron Young - Awesomatix A700L
3. Ryan Cooper
4. Joven Madriaga
5. Kyle Bergstrom - Awesomatix A700EXL
6. David Zorn
7. Cameron Wagner
8. Devin Patterson
9. Paul Dabao
10. Michael Montuy

13.5T Touring Car Finishing Order
1. Gonzalo Cortes
2. Sean Maybell
3. Bob Stellflue
4. Antonio Caroli
5. Joven Madriaga
6. James Davenport
7. Mark Dawson - Awesomatix A700L
8. Art Scrimo
9. Oliver Clipper
10. Eric Kim

17.5T A1, A2, A3
13.5T A1, A2, A3